Thursday, July 25, 2019

Love - Four Sail (1969) [Original Arthur Lee Mixes]

Love - Four Sail (1969)
2019 reissue / 1st issue of original Arthur Lee mixes
~ThePoodleBites Rip in 96 kHz / 24 bit FLAC~

I recently posted a "compiled version" of this oft-overlooked Love record featuring the Arthur Lee mixes (where available) plus rips from an original Monarch LP to fill in the gaps. Then, all of a sudden, without warning, this reissue appears, featuring all of the Arthur Lee mixes, mastered by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering! (Chris, are you reading my blog?) Well, unfortunately Chris' work required a little additional tweaking, due to some EQ notches that clearly weren't present on the tapes used for the Love Story masters. Details aside, I've freshly remastered this remastered set so that you can hear it in the most hi-fi sound possible. Some tracks make their debut appearance here in the original mix, and sound wayyy cooler then those reverbed-out, completely-ruined Elektra versions! The extra overdubs on "Talking In My Sleep" are gonna blow your mind...

Thanks @PsychTrailMix for discovering & procuring these sounds for this rip!

** Scans of this reissue not included, because the
original cover looks nicer ... go check it out! **

Track Listing:
01) "August" -- 5:07
02) "Your Friend And Mine – Neil's Song" -- 3:48
03) "I'm With You" -- 2:47
04) "Good Times" -- 3:32
05) "Singing Cowboy" -- 5:57
06) "Dream" -- 2:53
07) "Robert Montgomery" -- 3:42
08) "Nothing" -- 4:48
09) "Talking In My Sleep" -- 2:57
10) "Always See Your Face" -- 3:22

Arthur Lee - lead vocals, piano, harmonica, rhythm guitar, congas
Jay Donnellan - lead guitar
Frank Fayad - bass; backing vocals (tracks 6, 7)
George Suranovich - drums (tracks 1, 5-10), backing vocals (tracks 6, 7)
Drachen Theaker - drums (tracks 2-4)

Vinyl Condition: Mint
Dynamic Range: DR 12

Vinyl Lineage:
– Audio-Technica AT150MLx Dual Moving-Magnet Cartridge
– Audio-Technica AT-LP1240-USB Direct Drive Professional Turntable (internal stock preamp/ADC removed)
– TCC TC-754 RIAA Phono Preamp (new regulated power supply, added LM7812 regulator)
– Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 MkII (96kHz / 24bit)
– Adobe Audition CC 2019 (recording)
– iZotope RX 7 Audio Editor (manual declicking, EQ subtraction, additional adjustments)
– Audacity 2.3.0 (fades between tracks, split tracks)
– Foobar2000 v1.4.5 (tagging, dynamic range analysis)

Google Drive:


  1. Thanks for this version with the 'proper' mixes :)

  2. Thank you so much for the upgrade to your previous posting of Four Sail can't wait to hear it .

    ...and welcome back on line were missed !

    1. Thanks! :) And enjoy, these mixes are really fantastic...

  3. Awesome! Thank you! Is this release from July 2019 colored vinyl version?

    1. You're welcome & thanks for the comment. Yes this digital master was sourced from the 2019 colored vinyl release.

  4. sounds amazing, thank you for doing this. took me back to the first time I heard the album in 1969.