Friday, July 26, 2019

Rick Saucedo - Heaven Was Blue (1978) [Original Private Pressing]

Rick Saucedo - Heaven Was Blue (1978)
Original Private Pressing: Reality Records RS-55-DGP
~ThePoodleBites Rip in 96 kHz / 24 bit FLAC + full hi-res scans~

"... almost like a psych head's fantasy invention rather than an actual vinyl object." ~Patrick Lundborg

I previously ripped the Guerssen reissue of this fantastic private trip, but after getting an original pressing I discovered that side 1 is completely different mix, and side 2 is much more dynamic on the original issue. So once again, the original pressing wins out in terms of sound quality. However, I still recommend grabbing the Guerssen for the bonus tracks, especially "Oh My God," which was originally intended for inclusion until cut from the final release by an unknown engineer without Saucedo's approval. 

Thanks to @PsychTrailMix for helping fund this purchase!

Unlike my rip of the Guerssen reissue, I've corrected for my system's frequency response here, making this as close you can get to spooling up the original master reel yourself. Maybe better, even, considering the number of tape dropouts I had to fix. Also unlike the Guerssen, there has been no dynamic range compression applied, nor has the entire album been passed through a de-click filter, as was so obviously done on the B-side title track for the Guerssen version. Also, side 1 is the original mix, available nowhere else. Although there is no indication of such on the original LP, side 2 has been split into tracks in accordance with the Guerssen liner notes for convenience of the listener.

Track listing:
01) “Reality” — 4:08
02) “In My Mind” — 4:29
03) “Country Shakin’ — History Makin'” — 2:47
04) “Ka Mon We’re Gonna Rock All Night Long” — 3:52
05) “Heaven Was Blue” — 18:31
  • (i) “Heaven Was Blue” — 2:36
  • (ii) “Graveyard” — 2:33
  • (iii) “Set Us Free” — 3:37
  • (iv) “Empty Pillow” — 2:26
  • (v) “Angels March Into Hell” (instrumental) — 3:00
  • (vi) “Some Call It Magic” — 1:36
  • (vii) “Angles March Out Of Hell” (instrumental) — 0:45
  • (viii) “Heaven Was Blue (Reprise)” — 1:58
Vinyl Condition: M-
Dynamic Range: DR 15

– Audio-Technica AT150MLx Dual Moving-Magnet Cartridge
– Audio-Technica AT-LP1240-USB Direct Drive Professional Turntable (internal stock preamp/ADC removed)
– TCC TC-754 RIAA Phono Preamp (new regulated power supply, added LM7812 regulator)
– Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 MkII (96kHz / 24bit)
– Adobe Audition CC 2019 (recording)
– iZotope RX 7 Audio Editor (manual declicking, EQ subtraction, additional adjustments)
– Audacity 2.3.0 (fades between tracks, split tracks)
– Foobar2000 v1.4.5 (tagging, dynamic range analysis)

Google Drive:
Enjoy, and please feel free to leave a comment below! :) 


  1. I nearly leapt out of my chair when I saw this post, then I listened to it and was FLOORED. You have outdone yourself masked man, this is a true treasure to people like myself. Sounds simply breathtaking. A gem that you have done justice, thank you sir!!!

    1. Thanks so much for the comment -- I'm glad that there are other heads out there to appreciate & enjoy this fantastic LP as much as I do!

  2. Thank you!!! An excellent album with an excellent transfer. :-D

  3. 'The legend lives'! Two songs in and I'm really diggin' it. Thank you very much for yet another meticulous transfer, TPB.
    PS Do you happen to have any of the records that Paul Major mentioned during his participation in Amoeba's What's in My Bag segment?

    1. Thanks for the comment & great to hear you're digging this great private masterpiece!

      Yes, I do, but time will tell... :)

    2. To the future, then! Thanks again and all the best,

  4. Incredible album, and surreal to hear what seems like properly stored master tapes at first glance despite being a vinyl source.