Monday, May 25, 2020

Tabernash - Head Collect / Out Of The Cold

Tabernash - "Head Collect" b/w "Out Of The Cold"
Original 197? 45 RPM Stereo Single (Discogs)
Dym-A-Nite Records ‎1247
~ThePoodleBites rip in 96kHz / 24bit FLAC + full high-res scans~

Tabernash was a later pseudonym for the garage-rock band previously known as The Contents Are:, which released a well-known (but fairly mediocre) album called Through You on the private Rok Records label. This later single has been largely ignored but is significantly better to my ears, with the A-side being harder-edged acid rock and the flip having lighter folk-rock moves. These tracks were reissued in poor sound but with alternate extended versions on the group's retrospective album Four Each Other, but to my knowledge this is the debut appearance of this original 45 in the digital realm.
Thanks to my friend C.F. for turning me on to this & lending it out for this post!

There is a slight difference in line-up for this single as compared to The Contents Are: Through You, as Mick Orton appears here before he was poached for the country-/hard-rock group Silver Laughter. The guitar playing is what makes the A-side here special, which is presumably performed by the group's lead songwriter Craig Hute. While the fidelity on this 45 isn't perfect due to a tiny bit of distortion, it is much better than the tracks as available anywhere else. The date of this release has been placed by garage 45 collectors at about 1972, but it might be the case that this is actually from a bit earlier, circa 1970-71, and that's certainly how it sounds. 

Mick Orton singing & playing bass while Craig Hute plays lead in the background
Track Listing:
1) "Head Collect" – 3:10
2) "Out Of The Cold" – 3:01

Equipment Lineage:
– Audio-Technica VMN40ML stylus on AT150MLx dual moving-magnet cartridge
– Audio-Technica AT-LP1240-USB direct drive professional turntable (internal stock preamp/ADC removed)
– TCC TC-754 RIAA phono preamp (new regulated power supply, added LM7812 regulator)
– Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 MkII (96kHz / 24bit)
– Adobe Audition CC 2020 (recording)
– iZotope RX 7 audio editor (manual declicking, EQ subtraction, additional adjustments)
– Audacity 2.3.3 (fades between tracks, split tracks)
– Foobar2000 v1.5.1 (tagging, dynamic range analysis)

Tabernash (L to R): Craig Hute, Dave Neumann, Paul Staack and Mick Orton
Thanks for taking the time to read my posts and check out my blog. I'd greatly appreciate it if you leave a small comment below. Notes from my readers are what inspire me to keep going. Thanks!
Google Drive:
Enjoy! :)


  1. Thanks for this. Nice guitar work.

  2. Thank you! I was looking for this for a long time! Do you have the Hindenburg Lyon single also released in this label in 1972?

    1. Hey, thanks for the comment! I don't have that 45. I wonder if there were any other 45s on the label -- this one wasn't even in Discogs until I entered it a few days ago.

  3. Many thanks for another awesome obscurity, your rips always brings joy yo my life

  4. Now this is a vintage record if I ever saw one. Nice.

  5. Is this really the only single?